Competitions General International / Multinational

ECOWAS Fellowship Programme (

The Association of African Universities
(AAU) is pleased to announce the 2015 maiden edition of the ECOWAS
Fellowship Programme for Masters and PhD (EFP) under the sponsorship of
the Economic Commission for West African States (ECOWAS).

The Programme
seeks to promote capacity building within the ECOWAS 15-member countries
by providing full fellowships for training and education for nationals
of ECOWAS member states in higher education institutions of ECOWAS.

The Programme is open to qualified nationals (including
graduate students, researchers, lecturers, and staff) of ECOWAS member
states who will be admitted for Masters or PhD degree programme at any
one of the following three universities:

(a). University of Lagos, Nigeria
(b). University of Ibadan, Nigeria
(c). Université Cheikh Anta Diop, Senegal

A good first degree (at least second class upper division or its
equivalent) is required for Masters degree programme. An MPhil degree or
its equivalent is required for PhD programme.
Priority will be given to Anglophone
nationals who want admission into Francophone institutions, as well as
to Francophone nationals who want admission into Anglophone
institutions. Female candidates are particularly encouraged to apply.

Study Disciplines

Applications are invited from all disciplines linked to the fields of strategic importance to the West African region such as:

  • Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM);
  • Agriculture, Food Security and related disciplines
  • History of Africa
  • Earth and Life Sciences;
  • Health including maternal and child health, HIV/AIDS, etc.;
  •  Information technology
  • Gender issues.

Full Scholarship

The ECOWAS Fellowship Programme (EFP) is a
full scholarship intended to cater for each fellow’s costs of living,
tuition fees, visas, travel, insurance and thesis research. In this
respect, ECOWAS will pay the tuition fees directly to the institutions
and provide a monthly stipend of US$600 per Masters student and US$800
per PhD student to cover all other expenses for the duration of the
degree programme.

Application Procedure

Qualified candidates will be admitted to
one of the three institutions mentioned above. Please ensure that the
institution that you have selected offers the course you have chosen. 
All the three universities provide information about their degree
programmes on their websites.
Each application must include the following:
1.    A photocopy of the degree and other certificates.
2.    Completed EFP Form. Download the EFP form here
3.    Most recent curriculum vitae.


The 2015 Applications are accepted before October 15, 2015 from eligible students from ECOWAS member institutions.

Applications should be sent electronically to:
The Director, Directorate of Research & Academic Planning
Association of African Universities
Aviation Road Ext., Airport Residential Area,
P.O. Box 5744, Accra-North, GHANA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *