Nigeria LNG Limited (NLNG) Nigeria Prize for Literary Criticism 2023

Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Limited – The Literary Criticism Award – Literature cannot be said to have evolved if it lacks a vibrant reading and critical culture. A healthy dose of literary criticism is, therefore, necessary for the sustenance and growth of literature.

Therefore literary criticism must be supported and encouraged for robust development and growth of creative writing. These considerations led Nigeria LNG Limited to introduce a prize for literary criticism in 2012. The Nigerian Prize for Literary Criticism currently has a cash value of USD 10,000.

Applications are invited for:

Title: The Nigeria Prize for Literary Criticism Award 2023


  • Since the aim of the Prize is to promote Nigerian literature, it is open to literary critics from all over the world critiquing Nigerian literature.
  • For the purposes of this prize, Nigerian literature is defined as literature on Nigeria and the Nigerian experience and not literature written by a Nigerian. Special consideration is, however, given to critical essays on the works of the new generation of Nigerian writers.
  • The winners of this Prize are presented at the public presentation of winners of The Nigeria Prize for Literature.
  • Entries are hereby invited for the Nigeria Prize for Literary Criticism. They yearly  prize is sponsored by Nigeria LNG to honour the author of the best critical work.

Award Prize

  • To encourage literary criticism, the Advisory Board of the Nigeria Prize for Literature will reward one critic with the sum of USD 10,000
  • The prize will be awarded for no other reason than excellence
  • The winner(s), if any, will be announced and presented in October 2023.


  • Professor Ameh Dennis Akoh (Chairman
  • Dr. Rasheeday Liman (Member)
  • Prof. Osita Catherine Ezenwanebe (Member

Advisory Board

  • Professor Akachi Adimora – Ezeigbo, FNAL, FLSN (Chairman)
  • Professor Olu Obafemi, FNAL NNOM (Member)
  • Professor Ahmed Yerima, FNAL FSONTA (Member)

Deadline: 31st March, 2023.

Method of Application
Interested and qualified candidates should:
Click here to start application online

Submission Procedure

  • All applicants must submit their entries acommpanied by an Application From obtainable online from The Nigeria Prizes website
  • Completed forms must be printed and submitted with the entries

Note: For further information, visit the Prizes’ website: and NLNG website:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *